London: Housing Market in Tier 4


Yesterday, 20 December 2020, London has been placed in Tier 4. The announcement was made over the weekend during the Saturday evening speech of Prime Minister Boris Johnson. London and part of South East and the East of England would face a full lockdown starting 20 December 2020. These include the whole of London, Surrey, Kent and Medway, Hastings and Rother, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hertfordshire, and parts of Hampshire, Essex, Bedfordshire, and Peterborough.

What does Tier 4 mean?

Tier 4 is a tougher restriction than Tier 3 to slow down the new strain of Coronavirus. 

  1. People are not allowed to travel abroad on holiday in Tier 4 areas
  2. There will be no restrictions on outdoor exercise
  3. Non-essential shops and hairdressers are closed.
  4. No Christmas bubbles
  5. No overnight stays outside the home
  6. Essential shops are remained open.
  7. Schools and colleges are remained open.

What does it mean to the real estate market?

The government has revealed that the real estate industry can still work within the new Tier 4 restrictions with strict observance of the government guidelines of the house move, this includes wearing a face covering and social distancing. 


Hamilton James Property Inventories provides property inventory services in south London and the surrounding areas. Visit our website for more information about our check-in inventory service, midterm inventory service, and check-out inventory service.